These Drones Have Amazing Resale Value

A drone can be a great investment and hold value for years.

Chris Weber
2 min readJan 24, 2021
Mavic 2 Pro, Photo by Roman Koval from Pexels

There aren’t too many consumer electronics that can be sold for close to the purchase price after a year of use. These drones are an exception.

DJI Mavic 2 Pro

It would be hard to argue that DJI doesn’t have command of the camera drone market. The Mavic 2 Pro is the model that has been considered the best bang for the buck since 2018.

I purchased my M2P at the beginning of 2019 at pre-tariff prices and could easily sell it for what I paid if I included a few accessories. I’ve wrecked it a few times but only caused some barely noticeable scratches. It would sell quickly.

The Mavic 2 Pro currently retails for quite a bit more than what I paid for it at the DJI Store due to tariffs on goods imported from China. The price difference for a new model has erased any of the depreciation that would have occurred without tariffs.

Photo from Skydio.com

Skydio 2

The Skydio 2 became available in limited quantities at the end of 2019. A production backlog means owners of the Skydio…

--

--

Chris Weber

Measuring the gravity in collisions of technology and news. I'm diving into the intricate world of media to untangle Earth's most captivating stories.